Ningyo Shibai – Chapter 6

Chapter 6

Cooking King

This chapter tells the story of the androids’ origin and the story of their creators. It features a young, almost unrecognizable Shizuka.

This translation is intended to be read along with the ebook or paper volumes, so it isn’t a scanlation, just a translation.

62:RX: So many beautiful ladies are crowding around./ I’m RX- Mark II Bentz, nice to meet you. /Listen to the words of Master Shizuka, strongly, to understand. Fly to room./
I am the work of the professor called Minami Sounosuke. Didn’t you know to where?
63: Mikan: Shizuka-kun…/ You made/ this robot…
Shizuka: The professor melted the program language floppy…
Mikan: Oh…
Shizuka: To be honest, the input is mine…
RX?: That/ BIG PERSON/ where is he?/ Just one word…
sfx: kyaa/ snap
RX: Son of a bitch.
64: Small text: This is
Box: Kyoto National Science Research Institute
{It is the year 27XX. This is the cutting edge of modern Japanese science technology./ Medicine, pharmaceutics, mental health, biotechnology, etc. Not to mention, life science./
From earth science, space science, computer science…/ High tech atomic energy, modern engineering and energy resource development./ Military technology, robotics engineering, etc. etc./
The very best engineers and researchers in the country have gathered at this institute to sacrifice themselves to the aforementioned./ And then, here, the Science and Technology Development Department, Cognitive Science Section, Intelligent System Study…}
Small text: That was long…
65: Cognitive Science Section, intelligent system study…/ That is one part of computer science. Living human bodies, cognizance, behavior, thoughts, words, emotions, etc. from the study of cognitive science./ Intelligent AI study connects these…}
Small text: It’s part of the brain.
Large text: This fake researcher!
Small text: It’s simple
{That is to say, it is the study of making robots as close to humans as possible.}
Shizuka: Get over here, Sounosuke!!!
sfx: bam
{In here}
Sounosuke: I’m here…
{is that project.}
66: Sounosuke: Some for you,/ and you,/ and you!
sfx: yay yay
Assistants: What is this, Professor Minami? Is this/ soup?/ It’s delicious!!
Sounosuke: It is!?/ I ate it at last month’s national culture museum’s party./ The flavor of miso soup./ I brought it here!!!
Large text: Cooking King!!
Box: … But it was not to be.
sfx: scowl scowl
Large text: What kind of conduct is this?/ Plus, is cooking part of your job?
67: sfx: oops
Sounosuke: Time’s up for your scolding!/ This time–
Shizuka: Work!!!
Sounosuke: So, work, work/ from the regular meeting, is it?
sfx: thud thud thud
Small text: Pink-chan
Pink: Yes
Shizuka: Every day, it’s so complicated!/ Just stop already!
RX: He’s angry.
Sounosuke: The problem with the transmission method is caused by this rude guy./ Your input isn’t conveyed in clear language. That’s the only problem!
Small text: ahahaha, this is ridiculous
Shizuka: I didn’t want you to say that with the remains of tears! /
Hearing afterwards…1
Small text: Was exposed
Small text: Oh, um…
Sounoske: Tonight at 8!/ I’ll definitely return to our room!/ Because you like them, I’ll make lots of spicy foods./ So,/ This will fix your bad mood, Darling! ❤
Large text: Who are you calling darling?
Sounosuke: Adieu
sfx: slam
68: Shizuka: What a pain!
{Inhumankind. Everyone’s Brothers Project…/ The planner of this joke project is Dr. Minami Sounosuke (29)}
Shizuka: It wears me out…/ getting angry…
{A number of years ago, the Robotics Engineering Section suggested this cooperative study./ This project was described as/ the “Robots with Hearts” manufacturing project.}
Small text: Okay, the professor’s meal…
{Androids with feelings, preferences, individual ethics, and tastes.}
Small text: That guy has a sweet tooth./ He even makes kinpira sweet. /I won’t allow sweet kinpira!/ He has that irritating hair too./ People say I’ll get used to him doing that,/ but he shouldn’t do it!
{Getting involved with people, knowledge, a wide difference of feelings, having a study function./ I am that second prototype.
Assistants: But, Shizuka-kun,/ you really look just like Seiko-san.
69: Assistants: You’re especially like her when you’re scolding the professor.
{Dr. Kagata Seiko/ is in charge of the project with Sounosuke. She had authority over robotics engineering./ Half a year ago, I had just woken up in the research institute.}
Shizuka: She’s the one I’m modeled after?
Assistants: Right./ Shizuka-kun’s thought patterns and behavior patterns…/ and your personality model./ This program’s development came/ from the mutual study of Dr. Minami and Seiko-san from the time they were in graduate school, so…/
Such a cool person/ both in public and in private, so neat…/ just…
Shizuka: Just?
Assistants: With Dr. Minami, she was like the straight man in a comedy duo!!!
sfx: ahahaha
Assistants: These days,/ where is she anyway?
{Kagata Seiko is}
70: {Minami Sounosuke’s lover…}
Sounosuke: What’s causing that scary expression?
Small text: Is it bad?
Shizuka: The regular meeting.
Small text: What? This is good.
Shizuka: You skipped it, right?
Sounosuke: Well, you’ve found out.
sfx: munch munch
Shizuka: It was that terrible after the assembly bell and protest bell!/ But,/ where did you go?
Large text: I looked for ingredients at the market.
Sounosuke: I like these times the best./ Eating with someone else makes dinner delicious, doesn’t it?
71: {That is his favorite phrase.}
sfx: slurp
Shizuka: Doesn’t this taste different?
Sounosuke: Your feelings are the problem.
sfx: opens
Sounosuke: It’s hot… so spicy…
{Ah}
Shizuka: The cold feels nice…
Sounosuke: What a nice breeze./ It feels nice.
Shizuka: Yeah…
Sounosuke: Ah
sfx: whoosh/ yuck
Shizuka: Irritating hair!!!/ It’s cutting me!
Sounosuke: That’s rude!/ But, irritating rudeness…/ “Just like a golden head of rice”/ Despite that/ I’m still amazingly popular.
72: Shizuka: Were those/ Dr. Kagata Seiko’s words?
Sounosuke: Doesn’t she say the most poetic things?/ …even though/ you don’t know her…
Shizuka: Aren’t I different from her?…
{Seiko resigned from this place earlier. /No one knew the reason she left. / But everyone in the research institute knew…/ That she would not stop teaching.}
Sounosuke: I didn’t say…/ I only thought…
Shizuka: Well?
Sounosuke: That’s cold, Shizuka-kun./ I’m lonely.
{I don’t know the reason they parted./ It probably wasn’t logical.}
sfx: stare
Shizuka: What is it?
{If he’s lonely and tries to follow her,/ …even so, it would be good to restrain him}
73: {Do I not know because I’m a machine?}
Sounosuke: Seiko…
sfx: stare/ shiver
Sounosuke: Seiko…
{Or will I eventually know the feelings of the person I was designed to imitate?}
Sounosuke: Seiko–
sfx: crash/ suddenly
{Anyway, humans/ have too many emotions…}
Sounosuke: Ouch
RX: And then
sfx: a-/choo
Sounosuke: Oh/ Sorry.
74: Souosuke: The wind is cold today./ That’s why I caught a cold.
sfx: sneeze
Shizuka: Will I catch a cold?
Sounosuke: You can.
sfx: cough cough
Small text: I want to eat rice gruel.
Sounosuke: High efficiency virus sensor, and/ the body’s inner and outer warmth measurement and during that time…
Shizuka: I’ll make/ rice gruel.
Small text: yes
sfx: clatter
Sounosuke: Are you okay?
Large text: I’m okay!
sfx: kyaa/ clatter
75: sfx: pat
Sounosuke: As I thought, you hurt yourself.
Shizuka: It’s okay. Please go to sleep./ There’s no reason to let a sick person do this./ Honestly…
Book: Easy Cooking
Shizuka: You can’t make for me/ in that state.
sfx: hiss
Sounosuke: He has Seiko’s sense of morality…/ Well, please do it./ I want you to help, RX.
Small text: Mark II, Bentz
RX: Leave it all to me
Shizuka: That big idiot can’t do it, so/ I’ll do it.
sfx: whoosh/ clink/ tap tap/ clatter/ clatter/ step
Sounosuke: Are you really okay?
Large text: Stop fussing!!
76: sfx: munch munch/ sip
{Why!?/ I made it following the recipe, but/ it’s bad.}
Shizuka: What do you think, RX?
RX: I can’t eat the food you make./ Is it bad?
Shizuka: annoying…
77: RX: Dinner?
Shizuka: It hurts…
RX: It hurts?
sfx: sigh
Shizuka: Humans/ have feelings that hinder them…/ It’s irritating./ Anger and laughter and loneliness and cold and bad tasting and irritation and pain!/ Ah…}
sfx: whump
78: RX: The sun is coming out.
Shizuka: Yeah/ It’s warm…
{It feels nice…}
79: RX: What is an “android”?
{It feels nice.}
Shizuka: RX…
RX: What is it?
Shizuka: Umm…/ What do you think/ when you see Dr. Minami’s hair.
80: RX: What you call seeing,/ is what I call analysis./ His hair is blond./ It’s longer than Master’s.
sfx: empty/ patter patter
Shizuka: Wait…/ Did the professor eat this?!!
sfx: clatter
81: RX: He is asleep.
Shizuka: Yeah.
{Golden head of rice…}
Assistant: Ah,/ You’ve already recovered, Dr. Minami?
Large text: It’s a recovery celebration!
82: Sounosuke: Hello <3/ Minami Sounosuke has returned!/ What happened? These are/ an apology for being absent from my cold./ Pink gloves for Pink-chan./ A lemon colored sweater for Lemon-chan./ An orange hat for Mikan-chan./ Shizuka?
Box: Noon performance king.
Shizuka: O…/kay/ Rea…
sfx: tap tap
Sounosuke: A 3D projection model dictionary?/ Why are you looking at that?
Shizuka: Wah!
83: Shizuka: What are you doing here, Professor!?
Sounosuke: I apologized to everyone else,/ but I didn’t thank you.
Shizuka: Huh?
Sounosuke: Thanks for nursing me back to health!
Shizuka: Ah…
Small text: Does it convey my love?
Assistants: They’re still like that!/ They can’t be lonely for even one day./ Ah,/ The professor received an email from the graduate school./ It said, “Please send the requested items.”
84: Sounosuke: I’m leaving for a bit./ See you later!
Large text: Later?
Shizuka: Work!
Sounosuke: I’ll come home at dinner, so don’t worry!/ Do your best./ I’ll be hungry, so wait for me, Darling ❤ / Adeiu
Small text: Deja vu
Lemon: Is this about graduate school?/ Professor Minami’s former teacher…
Pink: Yes,/ Dr. Minami’s foster father.
sfx: huff huff
{Huh?}
Shizuka: Foster?
Pink: Oh,/ no one told you about it./ When he was a small child, Dr. Minami’s relatives/ all passed away during an accident on a family vacation…
85: Pink: The professor’s father had a close friend./ A university professor/ who was a bachelor took charge of him./ In their studies, too, the professor and the former teacher were of the same mind.
Shizuka: How…
Pink: How?
Shizuka: How…/ How could he/ leave me in the dark?
86: RX: Isn’t that good, Master?/ The assistant girls will nurse you. Tonight/ they won’t refuse.
sfx: cough cough
Shizuka: Everyone has to work, so…/ I don’t want to trouble them.
sfx: beep
Shizuka: It will be eight hours…/ until the professor returns…
sfx: pon pon pon
RX: Afternoon. 9 hours and 49 minutes.
Shizuka: cough
RX: The assistant girls could make you something to eat.
sfx: cough
87: sfx: silence
{“Eating with someone else makes dinner delicious, doesn’t it?”/  No,/ It’s because it’s gotten cold.}
88: {It isn’t good./ It’s too quiet in this room.2  It’s out of balance/ since that guy is
always so noisy./ The clock/ sounds so loud.}
sfx: cough cough
89: sfx: cough/ slip/ suddenly
Shizuka: Only because it’s cold.
sfx: thud
{Even though you’re not here/ these feelings…}
Shizuka: Sounosuke…
90: sfx: bam
Sounosuke: I’m sorry./ I’m late.
91: {Well, why is it?}
Sounosuke: Sorry. My teacher kept me…/ We ran into each other at the research institute./ Shizuka, do you have a cold?
{“Golden head of rice…” I can’t imagine what kind of person would call you that.}
Sounosuke: Do you want something to eat?/ You have a fever.
sfx: shiver
{Why is it?}
92: {That these things/ feel so peaceful…}
sfx: click
Shizuka: Is that someone you know?
93: sfx: click
Shizuka: Dr. Seiko…/ This photo disk/ was a “requested item”?
Sounosuke: Right./ The teacher went to Seiko’s new address.
Small text: She had to move.
Sounosuke: After she resigned at the research institute, a lot of different things happened…/ My former teacher’s teacher helped her out./ Seiko wanted to do
everything alone. But that guy / told her angrily, “It’s pointless to try to refuse out of courtesy.”
sfx: click
94: Shizuka: Seiko’s courtesy?
sfx: grin grin
Sounosuke: You say some harsh things…
{“From my hands/ there is nothing I wouldn’t lend to her,”/ said the professor with a small, lonely smile.}
Shizuka: I wouldn’t ask for Dr. Seiko’s help./ She probably wouldn’t give it.
Sounosuke: It’s okay./ Look.
sfx: click
95: Shizuka: Is that a child?…
Sounosuke: No./ It’s an android/ prototype./ Does he look like me?/ I’m the model.
Shizuka: What’s his name?
Sounosuke: Arashi./ My relatives left behind property and/ insurance money on all the property./ With that, I bought him from the research institute,/ and forced him on Seiko.
{Arashi…/ “The property rights are no longer mine.”}
96: {“If you don’t accept him,/ he’ll only become scrap.”/ “The reason/ I couldn’t go with you…”}
Sounosuke: Despite that sort of thing,/ she took him with her. / So…
{The happiness of the laughing people in the photo disk/ Seeing that/ made him smile with happiness from his heart.}
Sounosuke: And still,/ I was content.
97: Sounosuke: With you as well.
{If he’s able to make that kind of face…/ and have feelings of love too./ It seems as though he might have never known such bad things./ With the feelings I have as an android,/ I can only make that kind of face when there is nothing bad.
98: {There’s nothing bad}
Shizuka: The family passing away/ in what had until then been a bustling house…
{Until Teacher took charge of me/ I ate alone everyday.}
Shizuka: Is that/ the reason for the existence of androids…
99: Shizuka: A lonely person…
Arashi: Shizuka?
Shizuka: Golden head of rice…
sfx: ouch!! kyaa
Arashi: What a weird guy.
Small text: Hurry up and sleep.
{Look,/ There’s nothing bad…}

 

<Previous Chapter | Next Chapter>


1. The rest of this bubble is illegible.

2. He’s saying that it’s too “Shizuka” in the room.

 

Leave a comment