Ningyou Shibai – Chapter 9

Chapter 9

Miraculous Hands

A young man who once had a remarkable ability and a child android meet a second time in this unusual but touching story.

This translation is intended to be read along with the ebook or paper volumes, so it isn’t a scanlation, just a translation.

7: {Once, they said I had “miraculous hands”}
Doctors: I don’t believe it./ It wasn’t long ago the lesion was eating away the patient’s body./ But now it’s vanished completely…
sfx: beep beep
Maria: Thank you for saving Mistress’s life.
8: Yamato: Is…/ this/ an injury?
sfx: wobble/ meow
Maria: Amazing…/ It’s true./ You only have to hold out your hands to heal…/
But it makes you really tired, doesn’t it?/ You were reciting something while holding out your hands, right?
Yamato: Wait a second…
sfx: slump
9: Yamato: If I rest for a bit, I’ll recover…/ So,/ I could heal your injuries as well.
Maria: That won’t be necessary./ Because I am/ a robot.
sfx: astonished
Yamato: Aren’t you in pain?
Maria: I am able to feel pain.
10: Yamato: I’ll lend/ my hand./ Pain,/ pain,/ fly away–
{That was fifteen years ago.}
11: Shizuka: Fifteen years ago, you saved the “Mistress.” She passed away last month./ Did you know how she built up wealth over her lifetime as a businesswoman?/
The Mistress left you something in this mansion in gratitude.
Yamato: This is a waste of time!/ Just hurry up and give me the money.
Shizuka: Don’t be hasty…/ Yamato-sama
Yamato: Anyway, I don’t have time…/ You can probably see the hospital from this mansion.
12: Yamato: An acquaintance of mine was hospitalized./ I had to help with the surgery cost. [Not sure, and surgery cost should be bold or something.]/ I’ll do it,/ but I’ve got to return right away.
sfx: slam
Yamato: Ouch/ You-
Maria: Watch where you’re going!!
sfx: Oh
13: Yamato: Educational Guidance…!
Small text: Who is this child?/ Ah
Arashi: Maria!/ Maria, you’re facial expression doesn’t match your words!/ It’s “I’m sorry”, isn’t it?
Maria: Oh,/ I apologize!
sfx: smack
14: Shizuka: Do you remember the last time you were here, fifteen years ago?
Yamato: No!/ I’ve met thousands of patients.
Small text: Maybe even ten thousand
Shizuka: Fifteen years ago, you met this girl…
Yamato: After fifteen years, would I be able to recognize her?
sfx: clinck
Arashi: Your tea/ and sugar-
Yamato: Oh…
sfx: drop / plop plop
15: sfx: splash/ crash
Large text: Is it worth drinking?
Shizuka: This girl is named Maria./ She is a child-type android.
Yamato: A robot!
Small text: Child-type…
Yamato: And are you two…?
Arashi: That’s right! ❤
Shizuka: Before she passed away, the Mistress…
16: Shizuka: Amassed a fortune as an antiques dealer./ Her relatives passed away early without marrying./ She also left no children./
She was a person who disliked others./ She found fault with androids on a daily basis./ Since she had a wild disposition…
Arashi: All of the employees in this mansion are androids.
Yamato: Child-type androids. This kind of efficiency is what you would expect from someone so wealthy and famous/ Three types of androids/ would certainly be part of this bequest./ Right?
Shizuka?: Well, certainly, but these valuable items were broken. As a person of taste, she procured valuable items…
?: Probably so./ They were pretty things.
sfx: tap tap tap
Maria: To fulfill a promise to my late mistress, I waited for you, Yamato-san.
Large text: Huh?
17: Maria: Wake/ up,/ Ma/ ria
Yamato: She’s like a broken record…
Maria: Maria/ Gives/ this/ to/ you/ from Mistress.
Yamato: A mechanical box?/ This small box is the inheritance!
Maria: You understand!/ Open it…
18: Yamato: Damn!
Arashi: Mechanical box?
Shizuka: Many small sheets are joined together to make a toy box./ It’s a puzzle. The sheets must be shifted in a certain order to open it.
Arashi: Isn’t it too soon to destroy it completely?
sfx: pop pop/ hmm/ grrr
Shizuka: / Does he understand that the treasure inside might be fragile?/ To start with, the box itself is a very expensive antique.
sfx: pop pop/ opens
{Damn}
Yamato: It opened!
19: Small text: On 419?/ Yamato
Arashi: A treasure map!?
Maria: With/ a key.
Yamato: I’ll try every keyhole in this mansion!
sfx: patter patter
Small text: Is the box fragile?
Shizuka: Amazing./ It would have taken me three hours to open this box.
Arashi: Do you know what the contents mean? Those words…
Shizuka: What did it say?
20: ?: Didn’t you notice Maria’s expression?
{It’s not a door key…?}
Yamato: It didn’t fit any of the doors in the mansion./ Is it one of the doors outside?/ I give up…
sfx: drop
{Jewels on the library shelves?/ It’s a treasury…}
sfx: bam/ stare
21: Yamato: This treasure map is backwards…!/ PIANO/ Good job!/ It’s a piano key!
sfx: blush/ dash
Small text: You fixed mechanical box./ It’s valuable.
Yamato: If it’s an antique instrument,/ it will be worth an astronomical figure…
22: sfx: clatter
Box: A musical performance.
Yamato: I’m/ being made fun of…
Small text: I can’t read music
Maria: Maria/ knows/ this song.
Yamato: That’s helpful!
Maria: Helpful./ Okay./ Maria’s turn!/ Yamato/ a long time ago/ worked/ a lot./ Maria knows.
{That was before, when I was the boy with “miraculous hands.”}
23: {The people of this world eagerly awaited me for days./ Right now, they are aware that this “power” no longer emerges…/ My “miraculous hands” have weakened,/ the “power” has vanished./
Father,/ please don’t have take on any more customers without consulting me./ I don’t know the exact day that my power disappeared./ Using my power,/he only thought of my earnings./ Cruel/ for this boy.}
24: {I said that he would die./ I couldn’t say that I could save him.}
sfx: gasp
Maria: This cat,/ a long time ago,/ was/ hurt./ Yamato/ healed her,/ right?
25: Yamato: Well, the injuries are gone./ I won’t be able/ to save you like that again.
{Then, that day arrived/ with the worst form.}
Shizuka: Just when this mansion’s mistress passed away…/ A patient suffered from an incurable disease. It was a child./ The parents could choose between a doctor’s medical treatment or Yamato’s “miraculous hands.”/ The cost for either was the same large sum of money./
The doctor told child’s mother that the treatment had only a 50% chance of success./ They decided on Yamoto’s “miraculous hands.”/ But the sick child had already lost his strength./ There was no miracle./ Also, Yamato’s father ran off with/ the money they had paid.
26: Shizuka: Since Yamato was famous,/ society/ abused him terribly…
Maria: Fly away–/ pain/ pain/ fly away–
27: Yamato: My mother died
28: Yamato: when I was a child./ If I returned home with an injury/ she would recite that charm./ I would hold out my hands when/ I recited the charm.
Maria: A long time ago,/ didn’t Yamato/ do that?/ For Maria.
Yamato: Me?
sfx: nod nod
Yamato: I/ have/ hated robots for a long time.
sfx: a revelation
Yamato: My power wasn’t necessary, right?
{Ouch, Father/ don’t hit me.}
29: {If you were a girl, I could at least sell you./ You’re useless!}
Yamato: That power that I was born with/ wasn’t useful to anyone.
Maria: I like/ Yamato./ I always/ waited/ to meet you.
Yamato: Hmm?
30: {A child-type android./ I have heard about/ children passing themselves off as them./
“Siblings for the lonely children born in the one home, one child system.”/ “Friends for the hospitalized and companions to talk to the old.”}
Yamato: The mistress here had a weak constitution. Did she have someone to talk to?/ You?
{Filled with emotions/ and as lively as humans.}
Yamato: You are/ like a/ completely normal child…/ Maria?
{From the beginning}
31: Arashi: …Hey/ Yamato’s acquaintance is still hospitalized, awaiting an important surgery.
Shizuka: Possibly.
32: Shizuka?: I think this is about how Yamato wasn’t able to save that child./ Yamato’s father probably didn’t run off with the money… /
The child’s mother/ wasn’t able to raise the money for the surgery./ Of course, Yamato had been abandoned by his father,/ so he probably would come running to a story about an inheritance.
33: sfx: ping/ cheep
Yamato: Did we succeed?/ Ah,/ the bird in the cage!
Maria: Yamato,/ chase it!
sfx: flap
?: That bird
34: Maria: Yamato,/ take me with you
Yamato: Which way did it go?/ That way.
sfx: cheep/ step
Maria: Yamato.
35: Maria: Not/ here!
sfx: bang
Yamato: Wh-
36: Yamato: What is this place?
{Dolls./ A mountain of/ broken dolls.}
Maria: …broken/ Mistress/ broken/ illness/ was/ dying alone/ is scary.
37: Maria: The dolls/ could not/ disobey.
{Were the dolls made to go along with it?}
Yamato: A lot of dolls worked in this mansion. Was this child-type the only one left?
Maria: Child-type androids were made with abilities the most like humans./ Living alongside people, and having the ability to learn, creates a heart filled with feelings.
38: Maria: Especially the five senses, the hot and the cold are naturally the things that hurt–
Yamato: Maria!?
Maria: It hurts.
Yamato: Maria,/ I know/ it hurts.
40: sfx: whoosh/ jump
{ I couldn’t say that I could save him.}
Mother: …I can’t let you/ smile and be happy with a child.
41: Maria: Ya
sfx: slump
42: Maria: Yamato!/ No!/ Yamato!
sfx: wobble
43: {Pain,/ pain,/ fly away./ Ah../ I remember./ The girl robot who was hurt fifteen years ago./ “She found fault with androids on a daily basis.” / “For my sake,/ it was not necessary/ to use your important power./ So,}
44: Maria: Maria…/ can’t/ die./ For a robot’s sake…
Yamato: Thank goodness…/ I think… it’s sad that you can feel pain….
45: Maria: Now that it’s over, I’m glad…/ Thank you for saving me./ Now it’s/ Maria’s/ turn
46: Maria: Yam-to…/ Ya-/ Thank–/ you/ for saving–me
Yamato: Maria…?
Maria: Ma/ri /a’s /turn…/ this
47: Maria: time/ it’s
{Maria’s turn}
Maria: Ya
{ma/ to}
48: Shizuka: When their master dies and their role has ended, the child-type androids are programmed to return to the doll-house./ We are/ the master androids, who came to investigate when Maria did not return when her master died.
{The doll’s…}
Yamato: The manufacturer?
Shizuka: Maria told us when she met with us.
49: Shizuka: No matter what, she said had to meet you one more time./ The story about the inheritance was our plan to call you here./ For at least/ only a short glance./ For Maria, it was a gift to spend time with you.
{Since I came}
Yamato: You broke her…?
{“She’s like a broken record…”}
Arashi: The dolls were broken one by one./ They became frightened, not knowing if they would be next. For a long time,/ the master of this mansion’s personality had been changing./ Little by little, the fear sickened their hearts.
{Dolls are made to be, “More than anything else, like people.”/ It’s in their hearts.
50: Yamato: You can’t repair her?
Shizuka: When an android’s language skills begin to break down, it’s an obstacle to repairing them. If we turn them off to fix them, the data will stop interchanging within them the next day. She was afraid./
If we turned her off/ she would forget you./ So, Maria refused repair. She asked to meet you./ And,/ she decided to give you/ the value of her own body after she broke down.
{That was}
51: {Because of one memory?}
Yamato: You still…
52: Yamato: You won’t open your eyes?/ So, you’ll buy her from me,/ so that the money can go to that mother as compensation?/ But that won’t help me. I couldn’t save the children or myself./ That’s not going to change.
{“From the beginning, you were like a child,/ Maria”}
Shizuka: Of course, her eyes will open if she is repaired.
53: Shizuka: The broken parts can be replaced./ She would wake up a brand new item./ So, she/ would not be the “Maria” that Yamato knows./ Would you wish that for that child?/ You know/ Maria’s wishes.
{“Now}
54: {it’s over/ I’m glad./ Thank you for saving me./ Now it’s Maria’s turn”/ It was Yamato’s turn to save me this time.}
56: {West Tokyo Desert/ Doll House}
Arashi: Shizuka,/ Shizuka,/ Shizuka,/ Shi/ zu/ ka/
Shizuka: A letter came/ from Yamato-san.
Small text: so noisy…
Arashi: Yeah…/ What does it say?
Small text: That’s good
Shizuka: The “miraculous hands” were not up to the task. Life prolonging measures were taken on the child he failed to save. The child entered the hospital beside that mansion, but/ This time, the surgery was a success.
Shizuka: The mother… was able to reconcile with him. Their discussion was able to move her/ …toward the future
57: ?: On the day of his reunion with Maria at that mansion,/ we told him, “Come see us again.”
sfx: smile smile
Shizuka: …What?
Arashi: Well,/ that’s right./ Wasn’t it you who thought to buy her from Yamato?
Shizuka: For you information, Arashi, half of it came from your savings.
Large text: Eh?/ smile
Shizuka: Well… / It was necessary, right?
58: In this way, she sleeps with her happiness.
{Surely…/ she dreams of/ the continuation of her first love?}

 

<Previous Chapter | Next Chapter>


 

Leave a comment