Palace Meidi – Chapter 10

Chapter 10

Who is she?

In this chapter, Oritsu’s skills as a fisherwoman are discovered. And Akiko is finally able to eat sweetfish.

Well, it was a long time again. I keep being very busy. I hope it doesn’t continue. I translated another chapter of Ningyoshibai, which I may or may not add here.

This translation is intended to be read along with the ebook or paper volumes, so it isn’t a scanlation, just a translation.

52: sfx: patter patter
{When her majesty travels a long distance for an imperial vacation, many people accompany her.}
Man: Is this all the baggage?
{Chamberlains./ Doctors./ Bodyguards./ Equerries. [*In charge of carriages]/ Daizens. [*In charge of food]/ Then,}
53: Misono: Your attendants have all assembled,/ Your Majesty.
sfx: miin miin [cicadas]
Akiko: It’s the same as usual./ We’re there one week, then come back home immediately.
sfx: hehehe
Suke: Her Majesty’s being like that again.
Akiko: If I take a break from imperial business away from the capital,/ won’t the government be delayed?
sfx: grumble grumble
Suke: Hey!/ When you don’t take a break the attendants don’t take a break either.
54: Suke: Besides…
sfx: miin miin/ kyaa
Suke: It’s been a long time since we’ve visted the imperial villa in summer!
Lady: We’ve been looking forward to accompanying you!
sfx: appears
Small text: It’s a new hat for my dress ❤
sfx: sparkle sparkle
{All of the palace ladies}
Suke: Hmm?/ I don’t see Ron./ He always comes to see you off at the cedar doors.
sfx: hehehe
?: Maybe he’s sulking, since he’s staying at the Palace.
55: {Both the dog and the chamberlain attendants/ will not accompany Her Majesty.}
Small text: Until just now…
Akiko: Misono,/ Wait for me, then.
Misono: Have a safe trip, Your Majesty!
{But I am not sulking like the dog.}
?: Her Majesty–
sfx: miin miin
{The reason is}
sfx: miin miin
56: Oritsu: Her Majesty’s health?
Misono: The student attendants will not accompany Her Majesty./ But it is custom to go and inquire about Her Majesty’s health at the villa.
{About Misono coming to the imperial villa…/ I’ve never been./ But Her Majesty will be going for the first time in three years./
Coming to play for a little while./ It will be during the summer vacation for schools./ Yes ma’am!}
Small text: He’s smiling…
Misono: Her Majesty will wait for me too.
{“Please understand your role as a retainer.”}
57: {“In the near future,/ you could become troublesome to Her Majesty,/ Misono-san”}
Oritsu: Young Master?/ Should I come as well to inquire about Her Majesty’s health?
Misono: Oh./ Yeah.
58: Misono: The imperial villa is in Kamosawa Village./ Oristu,/ aren’t you from around Kamosawa?
Oritsu: Yes.
Misono: Otomi worried and said, “Oritsu can’t get to her hometown and back by sunset.”/
Have you heard that she hasn’t been back home since she started working as a maid?
Oritsu: That’s…
Misono: I don’t expect you to come with me to the imperial villa, but you can come with me to Kamosawa station./
This is an oportunity to see your parents’ faces again.
Small text: Right?
Oritsu: As Young Master’s attendant…
59: Oritsu: …I will!
{Like this, at last/ my summer vacation began.}
sfx: choo/ clatter/ clunk
{A three hour train ride from the capital,/ a place with mountains and clear waters./ The imperial household’s summer place is Kamosawa Villa.}
sfx: miin miin
60: Misono: Wow!/ What a clear stream!
Small text: Yikes/ It’s cold./ Nice.
sfx: splash splash
Umeyama: Hey!/ You’re chasing the fish away!
61: Misono: Oh…/ Excuse us.
Umeyama: Hmm?/ Aren’t you a chamberlain boy?
Misono: How do you know that…
Umeyama: It’s me. We don’t see each other much in the palace./ I’m the Daizen Umeyama.
{A mid-range master of the Daizenshoku/ Umeyama Chuujirou.}
Misono: Oh!
62: Small text: I didn’t recognize you without the white coat…
Misono: Did you come here with Her Majesty?
Umeyama: Yes. Inside or outside the palace, Her Majesty needs us to prepare her food./
I thought I should present this freshly caught fish today, but…
Small text: I do everything.
sfx: tsk
Umeyama: I’m leaving!/ See you later, boy.
sfx: thud thud
Small text: Take care./ Well…
Misono: I’ll go back to my hotel too./ Here, Oritsu.
Oritsu: Red bean candy…
Misono: It’s a present you can enjoy at home./ Since we’re returning on the train tomorrow,/
meet me at the station at four o’clock.
Small text: See you then.
Oritsu: Young Master.
63: Misono: What is it?/ Don’t you want/ to go back home…
sfx: grip
Misono: Oritsu?
64: Oritsu: Young Master, may I stay at the hotel with you?
sfx: miin miin
Akiko: Misono still hasn’t come?
65: Suke: Misono is coming tomorrow./ Setting that aside, Your Majesty, we’ve already taken a stroll in this place…
Small text: I don’t need/ the parasol.
Akiko: You don’t have to stay with me the entire time I’m away from the villa./ All of you can rest under a tree.
Small text: I’ll use this…
Suke: Thank you.
sfx: miin miin/ sigh
66: Akiko: Misono/… and/ who is that?
67: sfx: whoosh
Misono: Oritsu,/ why don’t you want to go home?
Oritsu: It’s…
{Go away, Ritsu!/ You won’t listen to your father.}
sfx: tremble tremble
68: Misono: …It can’t be helped.
sfx: scratch
Misono: I didn’t know the circumstances. I won’t force you to do something you hate./
But I only have one room at the hotel.
sfx: sigh…
Oritsu: Thank you, Young Master!
Misono: But why did you come to Kamosawa?
Oritsu: That was…
{So I could be with Young Master.}
69: Oritsu: I thought Young Master would be like a lost child!
Small text: Am I that unreliable…
Lady: Is Your Majesty already finished?
Akiko: Yes, it was good./ All of you can eat after this.
sfx: hmm
70: Doctor: It’s rare that she would leave so much./ Perhaps it’s Her Majesty’s health, but…/
She’s not ill, so it must have not suited her.
Small text: Court Physician. Poison Taster.
sfx: munch munch
Umeyama: What! Complaining about my flavors…
Small text: Chamberlains. Sharing the profit with others.
Chamberlain: No, this is still Chef Umeyama./ The roast beef in the consomme soup is delicious!
sfx: munch munch/ yum
Umeyama: Sweetfish tomorrow!
sfx: grip
Umeyama: I want to present sweetfish to Her Majesty!
Misono: Patience, Oritsu.
71: Misono: There was a mistake with the reservation./ And this place is full of summer visitors…
sfx: squeeze squeeze
Small text: Sorry,/ There’s not much space here./ Futon Room
Oritsu: Young Master…
[Footnote:] Comment: Oritsu has glasses [I don’t know why this is a comment?]
Oritsu: In society, servants are often treated badly by masters./ Why are you so kind to me?
Small text: Really?
Misono: Yes, it’s/ surely/ because Her Majesty treats me kindly.
72: Misono: Since it made me happy, I didn’t notice how kind she was to me.
{“You could become troublesome to Her Majesty.”/ Could that be true?}
sfx: wakes up…
73: Akiko: Who was she?
{How could I be troublesome to Her Majesty?}
Misono: Oh!/ Tomorrow I’ll call on the Imperial Villa…
74: Misono: Good Morning, Umeyama-san./ I’m going to present sweetfish to Her Majesty!
Small text: I’ve got a fishing rod
sfx: miin miin
Umeyama: Sweetfish should be grilled!/ Biting into a grilled sweetfish/ is the best!
Small text: Yeah!/ Freshly baked/ slowly/ Yum
Misono: I can’t take it.
75: Umeyama: But Her Majesty doesn’t get to taste that.
Misono: Eh?
Umeyama: The physicians and ladies made a fuss./ A bone could become stuck in Her Majesty’s throat. It’s a serious matter if Her Majesty’s mouth is scalded.
Small text: Open it and take out the inside./ Remove the bones./ Prepare it in a cold style.
Misono: That’s…/ As a Daizen, you should be able to present Her Majesty with the most delicious food./
If you make it like that, aren’t you taking great care to ruin it?
Umeyama: That’s right!!/ Boy, you’re a man of great taste!
Small text: I like that!!
76: Umeyama: Alright! Delicious sweetfish will fill Her Majesty’s stomach.
sfx: miin miin
Misono: We’ll present it to Her Majesty!!
sfx: Okay!/ miin miin/ swim/ miin miin
Box: Three hours later
sfx: miin miin/ splash…
Umeyama: How did we only catch a ricefish!
Small text: It will disappear during grilling!!
Misono: Are you saying I can’t catch anything!?
77: Oritsu: Young Master,/ I asked at the Imperial Villa, and then…/ I caught a few of these.
sfx: A lot/ drip drip
Large text: Big catch
sxf: drip drip
Oritsu: It’s good that I have these.
Small text: As I expected…/ Good job
Misono: Oritsu…!
Umeyama: Great!/ You can offer this whole catch to Her Majesty.
Misono: That’s not true…
Umeyama: That way would surely bring Her Majesty joy.
78: Umeyama: Right!
Misono: But…
Oritsu: I think it’s best too./ Here, Young Master./ If it brings Her Majesty joy,/ both of us will be happy!
{I want to see Her Majesty’s joy./ To present the fish with my whole heart.}
Suke: What handsome sweetfish!
79: Suke: Misono-san caught sweetfish this morning!/ What a splendid skill, Misono-san.
sfx: wow wow/ such skill
Small text: Um… this…
{But it turned out like this.}
Suke: Give this to the Daizen immediately!
sfx: wow wow
Akiko: Yes.
sfx: patter patter/ silence…
80: I hope Your Majesty is well…
Akiko: uhuh
Small text: Eh?/ Are you not well?
{Why was she staring at me/ so strangly today?}
sfx: stare
81: {Perhaps,}
sfx: slide
{She found out that I didn’t catch them!?}
sfx: stare
Akiko: Who was/ that girl who was with him?
sfx: drip drip
Akiko: Who was she?
sfx: vague
82: Misono: It was the maid from my house!!
sfx: suddenly
Misono: I have no excuse! I didn’t catch those fish./ It was the maid!
Akiko: The maid…/ the girl who was walking with you yesterday?
Small text: With the glasses.
Misono: Eh?/ Yes.
Small text: You saw us…/ That girl is from around here./ I thought she should come here…
Akiko: What?
83: Akiko: If it’s like that,/ it’s best to say so from the start./ Misono,/ I’m hungry.
sfx: oh/ growl
Misono: Oh/ …me too.
sfx: Hahaha
Small text: Please wait in the dining room.
84: Akiko: Misono is also/ allowed to eat with me today.
Small text: Wow, it smells good
Lady: The bones have been removed for Your Majesty.
Akiko: I want my fish the same as everyone else.
Suke: You can’t! Bones are dangerous.
Small text: What’s dangerous about them?
Well, I’ll partake.
Small text: Mine is whole/ excuse me ❤
sfx: whoosh
85: Small text: gone
Lady: What was that just now…
sfx: grrf grrf
Small text: I’m hungry
Everyone: Ron!!/ How did you get here!?
Small text: I hid in the large chest… I just came out…
sfx: wheeze wheeze
Suke: My sweetfish!!
sfx: screech/ give it back
Lady: Wait right there, Ron!!
sfx: waah/ run
86: sfx: waah/ kyaa
Misono: Your Majesty!
sfx: grr/ I’ll eat it all/ Hey/ grr/ huff huff
Suke: Sorry, that was terribly rude of us.
Lady: Well, this time as well…
87: Suke: Misono-san!/ You ate your own while we were gone!
Small text: It’s rude to use your chopsticks before Her Majesty does.
Akiko: Don’t get mad, Suke./ There’s nothing wrong with his manners./ Right, Misono?
sfx: lick
88: Misono: Yes ma’am!
Suke: Huh?/ What’s this about…
{Later on, every year Kamosawa’s sweetfish was presented to the palace./ Thus, Her Majesty was pleased./ On the other hand, there was the true angler.
sfx: tremble tremble
Misono: Don’t be so stiff, Oritsu.
Oritsu: But, but Young Master…
89: Oritsu: I’ll still go home. It’s too amazing for me to meet the Emperor face to face…
Small text: I can’t do it.
Misono: Her Majesty wants to see you./ You’re the girl who caught beautiful sweetfish.
Small text: This wouldn’t be allowed in the palace.
Misono: It’s all right./ Her Majesty is kind.
sfx: miin miin
Akiko: Are you Oritsu?
sfx: bow
90: Akiko: The sweetfish were very delicious./ Thank you.
sfx: miin miin/ blush
Oritsu: Ah…
Akiko:Were you born in Kamosawa?
Oritsu: Y-yes…
sfx: thump thump mumble mumble/ miin miin
Akiko: The cicadas are too loud. Come closer./ How old are you? How many years have you been working?
sfx: miin miin mumble mumble
91: Akiko: Is Misono kind to you?
Oritsu: Yes ma’am!/ He’s very kind!
Akiko: Is that so?/ Ritsu.
sfx: miin miin
92: sfx: miin miin
{Those words were drowned out by the cicadas./ They never reached my ears.}
sfx: clatter clunk
Oritsu: I… didn’t hear them well either.
93: Misono: Really! You too?
Oritsu: I only heard a little… I’d have to hear it again…/ Young Master.
sfx: clatter clunk
Misono: hmm?
Oritsu: I always thought Her Majesty was beautiful. Her position is far above mine./
I thought that she had everything she could possibly want./ But, really,/ I wonder if maybe
94: about Young Master, maybe Her Majesty…/ Young Master,/ Are you sleeping!?
Small text: mumble/ It’s because I’m an early riser…
sfx: clack clack/ snore/ glance glance
95: sfx: snore
{“Is Misono kind to you?”/ “Yes ma’am!”/ “Is that so? Good./ I’m jealous of Ritsu.”}
sfx: clack clack

<Previous Chapter | Next Chapter>


1. In charge of carriages.

2. In charge of food.

3. Footnote reads: “Comment: Oritsu has glasses” [I don’t know why this is a comment here.]

4. I wasn’t able to find this one.

Leave a comment