Palace Meidi- Chapter 12

Chapter 12

Prediction

Tensions with Russia reach a peak after Prince Alexei’s injury. Will there be war?

This translation is intended to be read along with the ebook or paper volumes, so it isn’t a scanlation, just a translation.

146: Misono: Kashiwagi-san!
{A servant in the palace,/ Venerable Kashiwagi.}
sfx: step step/ twitch
147: sfx: step/ hide/ step step/ thump thump
Kashiwagi: That day, from the other side of the folding screen/ I saw you fall down.
sfx: absently
Misono: Really?
sfx: step step
Misono: Thank you./ You saved me when you picked it up!
sfx: sigh
148: Kashiwagi: If Rokuouin-no-Miya-sama had picked this up,/ what would you have done?/
I remember this ring./ It was given to Her Majesty by Miya-sama to celebrate their engagement.
Misono: B-but it was given to me by Her Majesty…
Kashiwagi: I know that Her Majesty favors you./ But, I must say, as someone who has seen many things in the palace,/ Having that ring here in the palace is dangerous.
149: {I do not think Miya-sama would let you keep it./ This time, when you dropped it in the Palace,/ you should remember this./
It is an unsuitable thing for your position. You will destroy yourself./ It would be best to return it to Her Majesty.}
Chamberlain: Misono/ Misono!
sfx: patter patter
150: Chamberlain: We must quickly tell Her Majesty!/ Crown Prince Alexei is–
Small text: Alexei!/ Pin him down!!
sfx: clatter
Chamberlain: A ruffian cut at him! He’s injured!
151: {This strange report rushed over a thousand miles.}
Newspaper: Extra/ Russian Crown Prince
Saeki: Extra!/ Extra!/ The Russian Crown Prince was attacked during his visit as a state guest!
{The capital was enveloped in surprise and fear.}
?: Fortunately the prince only received a minor injury./ The arrested man testified, “It was an attack to prevent the prince’s future aggressions.”/ Stupid!
Man 1: But, from this, perhaps…
Small text: I’m so busy
Man 2: War with Russia!?
152: Small text: I’m home…
Brother: Kimiyori!/ Are we really going to war?
Oritsu: Young Master
Small text: Brother…
sfx: wah
Brother: Everyone says the angry Russian emperor is going to attack us in revenge!
Small text: What is happening~
Misono: This is only an unoffical newspaper./ Her Majesty apologized when she visited him. Prince Alexei also expressed gratitude./ That’s…
?: An order to return home!?
153: sfx: chatter
?: The crown prince’s party has already moved their warship.
They are waiting to set sail.
Man 1: They’re moving quickly…
Man 2: Should we detain them, Your Majesty?
Akiko: No. They’ll see it as something serious happening in a far away foreign country./ He says that it is a minor injury, but he should hurry home so the Tsar can see him.
Miya: A prudent imperial decision./ But we should at least give him a farewell dinner party.
Small text: As expected of Miya-sama
Man 2: Oh! That’s right!
Georgy: A farewell dinner party at the Palace?
154: Georgy: Refuse it
Man: Prince Georgy!/ At least ask Prince Alexei…
Georgy: Alexei is still recovering!/ For now, as my brother’s representative,/ I will take charge of everything!
sfx: Okay…
Georgy: The chamberlains are in awe of my resolute attitude.
{I’ll show them how well I can represent Alexei.}
155: {Father would approve!}
Georgy: How are you feeling, Alexei?
Alexei: You’re in a awfully good mood, Georgy.
Small text: Eh?
Georgy: It’s nothing in particular. I’m relieved you decided to go home…
Small text: Alexei~ Oh no~
Alexei: You sent Mother that exaggerated telegram./ I still haven’t seen much of this country./ And I haven’t gotten close to the emperor./ I won’t be able to give her a long farewell…
sfx: sigh
Georgy: In that case, Alexei,/ leave it to me.
156: {In this way, the Russian warship sent notice of their departure. The invitation / sent the palace into an uproar for a second time.}
?: In summary,/ Prince Alexei wants to wait before leaving to recuperate./ So, there won’t be a farewell party at the palace./ He has requested Her Majesty’s presence on the Russian warship with a small number of attendants.
sfx: chatter
157: Akiko: Understood./ We shall accept.
Men: Your Majesty!
Man 2: With so few people to accompany you, if something should happen…
Akiko: What do you mean by that? Tell me.
Small text: It’s…
Miya: Couldn’t Her Majesty be kidnapped on that warship?/ The chamberlains and officers are merely expressing their worry.
Akiko: Kidnapped?
Miya: It’s only natural that Russian soldiers would be on board a
Russian warship./ It is possible that they are planning revenge for
the crown prince’s injury. If that’s the case
158: Miya: it would mean war./ I will go as Her Majesty’s representative./ I am a close acquaintance of the Russians. If it comes down to it, I can do something.
sfx: oooh
Men: What a bold decision, Rokuouin-no-Miya-sama!
Miya: Please don’t take offense./ I want to protect Her Majesty.
159: Misono: It-/ It’s alright, Your Majesty./ If it’s Rokuouin-no- Miya-sama, surely he will handle this well–
sfx: turn
Misono: Your Majesty!?
Small text: Where is she…
Akiko: Step aside, Misono!/ I’m going to the crown prince’s warship!
160: Misono: You can’t go!/ It’s too dangerous for you to go there!
Akiko: Are you… going to say the same things as Miya?!
sfx: grab
Akiko: Shut up and let me through!
sfx: wahh…/ push push/ clack clack
Misono: You can’t, Your Majesty!
Akiko: Misono!/ Listen to my command…
Misono: Please forgive me, Your Majesty!
161: Misono: I cannot obey you command!/ If you are exposed to danger,/ I, and Miya-sama/ cannot exchange ourselves for you!
Akiko: That’s not it./ That’s not it, Misono…/ It will be dangerous if I don’t go.
162: Akiko: Prince Alexei was forgiving this time.
{“It’s only a light wound.”/ “There are dangerous people in every country. It does not change my goodwill towards your nation.”}
Akiko: But,/ the crown prince’s retainers will whisper in doubt./ It will spread to the common people./ So, I must go!/ I must accept the invitation to the Russian warship. Their return home must be peaceful./
That way, both countries will be at ease./ No one else can do this for me!!
163: {Your Majesty…}
Akiko: Forgive me,/ it’s shameful of me to take this out on you.
sfx: cough
Akiko: Even if I don’t pass through those doors, even if you don’t become my substitute, it’s alright./Misono,/ Be my strength!
164: ?: It’s an emergency Imperial Council./ What did you say again about the Russians?
sfx: patter patter/ step
?: The emperor.
sfx: slide
Chamberlains: What?/ Her… Her Majesty!?
165: ?: Her Majesty has arrived.
sfx: chatter
Akiko: Thank you for assembling quickly, everyone./ I thought I would accept the Russian warship’s dinner party invitation./ Does anyone have a different opinion?
166: Man 2: The Russian soldiers probably wouldn’t be unreasonable./ If they did anything,/ the world would probably criticize them as a savage nation.
sfx: chatter
Men: But Her Majesty/ looks beautiful.
sfx: step
Rokouin-no-Miya: Her Majesty has decided to visit the warship.
167: Miya: Misono,/ this was probably your suggestion.
Misono: It was… Her Majesty’s choice.
Miya: You will be the attendant who holds her hem. Was that also Her Majesty’s choice? / You must be a truly great retainer,/ willingly accompanying the emperor to such dangerous places.
sfx: step
168: Misono: Those words, Rokuouin-no-Miya-sama, I-
{“It is an unsuitable thing for your position.”}
Miya: Misono!/ If something happens to her, you’ll be banished from the palace!
{“You will destroy yourself.”}
169: They accepted the invitation!?/ The emperor said she would come to the ship?/ Is this true? With only her interpreter, ladies- in-waiting, and the boy who holds her hem!?
Alexei: Georgy
sfx: gasp
Alexei: What did you say?/ I didn’t hear anything about this before.
Georgy: Alexei! This is…/ I just thought I shouldn’t worry you…
sfx: squeeze
170: Alexei: I’ll report all of your actions to Father./ It will be Father who will punish you, not me.
Small text: Serves you right!
Georgy: Alexei…
sfx: fwoosh/ sob
Suke: sniff/ sniff
Akiko: Stop crying, Suke.
171: sfx: fwoosh fwoosh
Akiko: Your makeup will run before we get to the warship.
Suke: But… I’m worried about Your Majesty…
sfx: sniff sniff
Akiko: Even though you always wanted me to wear this,/ you’re not going to admire it?
sfx: sob
Suke: Yes…/ Ahhhhhh!
sfx: jolt
Misono: What is it, Head Lady?
Suke: I forgot your ring, Your Majesty!
Small text: What have I done?
Akiko: Ring?/ I don’t need it since I’m wearing gloves.
Suke: It’s mannerly to show your fingertips at mealtimes!
sfx: hmm
172: Misono: The ring…
Small text: I have it…
sfx: thump thump
Small text: It’s alright. You can touch up your makeup.
{“It would be best to return it to Her Majesty.”/ If you are going to return it, shouldn’t it be now, Kimiyori?/ It’s unsuitable for a retainer to possess./ “You must be a truly great retainer…”}
173: {The way Miya-sama said it,/ should I become a retainer/ who stops Her Majesty from going too far?}
sfx: thump
{Now, I should–}
Akiko: Suke was worried./ But I’m…/ pitiful./ I’m still going despite my own wishes.
sfx: fwoosh
174: Misono: Your Majesty/ Please use this ring.
175: Akiko: Didn’t I/ give this to you a long time ago?
Misono: I’m not returning it to you./ The truth is, this ring/ was taken by my sister, and stolen by Ron…
Small text: Kimi-chan/ It’s mine./ hehehe/ Thank you/ I found this…
Boxes: Sister/ Ron/ Kashiwagi
Misono: and I dropped it in the Palace when I fell down.
Small text: You didn’t like it./ I’m sorry
Misono: Even so!/ This wonderous ring/ kept returning to my hands.
176: Misono: If Your Majesty wears this ring,/ surely you would also return to me safely!/ I will wait for its return.
Akiko: u-huh!
sfx: grip
177: {Even now I remember it vividly./ The roaring of the twenty-one gun salute.}
sfx: boom boom
Small text: Enough/ So noisy
{The way she appeared on the Russian ship/ was different from the times in the palace.}
sfx: boom boom
{The glittering}
178: {Alexandrite necklace and the evening dress worn by Her Majesty/ replaced the military uniform/ she had gallantly worn.}
179: sfx: fwoosh fwoosh
{Prince Georgy!}
Georgy: I’m relieved. The emperor and Alexei are having a pleasant chat.
Small text: I don’t know Russian…
Georgy: As the crown prince, Alexei is trusted by Father and the retainers./ I’m different. I can’t be saved from my maliciousness./ So… I mean…
180: Georgy: I was wrong to say what I said before!
Small text: Is he apologizing?
{I understood his words–/ No, since neither of us can understand each other,/ we are able to express our true feelings.
sfx: fwoosh fwoosh
Misono: I was/ also rude to Your Highness./ Because I was in awe of Her Majesty/ I had forgotten my position as a retainer. / I–
sfx: grip
181: Misono: said I wanted to become a Her Majesty’s cage./ I don’t want anyone to enter that cage!
sfx: fwoosh
182: Both: I don’t understand you at all.
Small text: What is he saying?/ Isn’t that right?
Alexei: Georgy,/ come and greet Her Majesty.
Akiko: Prince Georgy,/ I hope you will forgive me for causing you to worry.
Small text: interpreter
sfx: blush
Georgy: No, not at all!!
183: Alexei: Your words of apology are more than enough./ Please, in this place…/ But, Your Majesty,/ have you changed your thoughts/ on the question I asked at Tenchousetsu about your future?
184: Alexei: Will I still be able to welcome you to our country soon?
sfx: chatter
185: sfx: sigh
Akiko: Prince Alexei.
Alexei: It was a joke.
sfx: tehee/ gahh/ Alexei!/ sigh
Alexei: Your Majesty/ You should become a diplomat in the future.
Akiko: A diplomat?
186: Alexei: You are a woman of your own opinions./And you have enough courage to come here./ In the future, when you abdicate, go out into the world instead of going into seclusion./ Surely you can help your younger brother for the sake of your country./ So, without fail,/ please visit my country.
187: Akiko: Yes.
{Would those words be a prediction/ that would guide Her Majesty?/ The answer would only be known far in the future.}
188: {There was one thing I didn’t know./ That occasion was/ the first and only time Her Majesty needed to wear a dress.}
Georgy: What? Since it suits her, she should wear it.
Small text: How wasteful.
Alexei: I thought she wouldn’t wear them anymore./ I got that feeling somehow, while speaking to her.
189: {There is someone who said he likes how I look in my uniform…}
Alexei: My predictions are usually right.

<Previous Chapter | Next Chapter>


 

Leave a comment